“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”

Check out the new trailer for 20th Century FOX’s “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” – sequel to their 2011 hit remake, Rise of the Planet of the Apes!  As of yet, I haven’t seen Dawn‘s prequel, but I do recall watching Tim Burton’s 2001 variation of Planet several years ago on TNT. I was a definite kid at the time and saw it one morning curled up on a hotel bed (though I probably should have been in school or something), so the movie’s supposed rottenness was lost on me. In my eyes, it was fascinating, and that’s when I fell in love with “Planet of the Apes”. I’m not sure if I fell in love with the whole ‘apes in power over humans’ idea as well. That’s not fascinating. That’s frightening 😦 . Nevertheless, I’m excited to see what Dawn brings to the big screen. I’m just afraid, however, that it is devoid of that human connection James Franco’s character sparked with Caesar in Rise. I think that that special bond between man and animal is integral for any ape film to be a success.

Release date: July 11, 2014

Synopsis

A growing nation of genetically evolved apes led by Caesar is threatened by a band of human survivors of the devastating virus unleashed a decade earlier. They reach a fragile peace, but it proves short-lived, as both sides are brought to the brink of a war that will determine who will emerge as Earth’s dominant species.

Leave a Reply

