Throwback Trailer Thursday #52

The trailer for this our last week’s throwback Thursday together is for Andrew Adamson’s 2005 movie adaption of “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe”. Now, I could’ve dedicated this last throwback to Robert Rossen’s “The Hustler” or Oliver Stone’s “Wall Street” aka Greed is Good or George Roy Hill’s “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid” (with that ending!) and I’m sure you would’ve liked that very much. But no film cast such a heavy magical pallor over my childhood as that of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (the first film in the as-yet-unfinished Narnia Chronicles). It’s the first movie I recall seeing in the theater and it left a singular impression on my imagination and reach as a kid, one which lingers on to this very day. Almost all I can remember about the year 2005 is seeing Narnia promotions almost everywhere, though I have my dad to thank for actually introducing me to the brilliant intellectual of yore, C.S. Lewis, and the spiritual metaphors he weaved throughout the Narnia series. Director Adamson  was simply blessed to execute The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe as he did. Georgie Henley, Skandar Keynes, Anna Popplewell, and William Moseley were perfect as the Pevensie children along with Tilda Swinton in her role as the witch, um, White Witch, to be more specific, James McAvoy lovely as the faun Mr. Tumnus, and Liam Neeson as the voice of magnificent Aslan. I can hardly believe this year makes 10 years since the first Narnia film opened in theaters. I may be getting older, but it will never get old.

Have you already seen The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe? Leave your commentary about it in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

